Accepted Qualifications 2023

Recognised Institutions

World-wide, only four institutions currently provide courses assessed to the standard for recognition. These are:

Institute of Heraldic and Genealogical Studies
University of Dundee
Centre for Archive and Information Studies

University of Limerick logo
University of Limerick
Department of History
University of Strathclyde
Strathclyde Institute for Genealogical Studies,
Centre for Lifelong Learning,

Accepted Qualifications

Qualifications that may be accepted for full membership (Qualified Genealogist) are:

Diploma in Genealogy
(Institute of Heraldic and Genealogical Studies)

Postgraduate Diploma in Family and Local History
(University of Dundee)

MA in Family History
(University of Limerick)

Postgraduate Diploma in Genealogical, Palaeographic and Heraldic Studies
(University of Strathclyde)

Credit transfer from other higher degree awards may be used to top up from Postgraduate Certificate to Postgraduate Diploma level in order to apply for membership. If you wish to apply, you must hold 60 M level credits from one of the approved Postgraduate Certificate level genealogy courses from the above institutions.  Each applicant must then demonstrate how awarded credits, from other institutions or courses, match to the 60 M level credits of the Postgraduate Diploma from those institutions.  Use the link above to access each syllabus and their credit rating.  Your application must outline which M level credits you have achieved and demonstrate how these match to one of the approved awards listed above.  Board members will review the credits achieved against the standards from one of the approved institutions.  We may be able to approve your application or suggest further study to enable you to top up your Postgraduate Diploma credits.  The Board’s decision on approval will be final. If you need more information on how to proceed, please contact

Anyone studying with the intention of obtaining these qualifications may apply for student membership, which would then last for a maximum of five years. Extending this period would be subject to RQG Board approval of individual circumstances. Students must signal their intention to undertake further study leading to an approved qualification, or demonstrate  achievement of the Postgraduate Diploma level from one of the approved institutions’ by credit transfer.

We would be pleased to hear of other courses, from anywhere in the world, that may meet the standard and can be considered for recognition. Courses that will be recognised must be specific to genealogy and family history. The standard for recognition of a course is set at English QCF level 7 (of 8)[1] or Scottish SCQF level 11 (of 12)[2] and equates to 120 European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS)[3] credits as defined through the European Bologna Process.[4]