Paine, Nikki

Photo

Paine, Nikki

Genealogist

  • Ancestral tourism and event organising, Buildings/Locations research, Individuals/Families research, Mentoring/Tutoring, Seminars/Courses, Writing
  • Ashford, Kent

Description

I currently work as a part time genealogist primarily researching family histories and putting them in context with the social history of the time. These might be name studies or building studies where the families that have lived there over time are researched.  I enjoy teaching and have a BA(Hons) in Post Compulsory Education. This provides the skills for mentoring, tutoring and planning courses. I also write the occasional blog.

I was adopted as a baby and in adulthood became interested in knowing the family history of my birth parents.  This quickly became addictive and a love of genealogical research was born.  I have traced my living relatives, and have also found that my paternal ancestors were hard working coal miners for generations and one of them lived at the illustrious address of No. 6 Bog Row!  Although no fortunes are hidden in my family tree I was proud to find them all hard working, striving for a better life for their own children, something which I have done for my own two sons.

Living in Ashford Kent, I have good access to The National Archives, The London Metropolitan Archives and the Society of Genealogists as well as the County Archives for Kent, Surrey and Sussex.


Location


Specialism

  • 16th and 17th Century Parish Records
  • Adoption
  • Family history
  • Kent history
  • Tracing

Education

  • 2013 - 2016
    MSc in Genealogical, Palaeographic and Heraldic Studies with Merit at University of Strathclyde
  • 2001 - 2004
    BA(Hons) Post Compulsory Education and Training at Canterbury Christ Church University

To contact this candidate email nikki@ancestryandheirs.co.uk

Contact using webmail: Gmail / AOL / Yahoo / Outlook