Accepted Qualifications

Recognised Institutions

World-wide only three institutions currently provide courses assessed to the standard for recognition. These are the:

Institute of Heraldic and Genealogical Studies
79-82 Northgate,
Kent, CT1 1BA,
University of Dundee
Centre for Archive and Information Studies,
Culture and Information,
School of Humanities,
University of Dundee,
Dundee, DD1 4HN
University of Strathclyde
Genealogical Studies,
Centre for Lifelong Learning,
Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences,
University of Strathclyde,
40 George Street,
Glasgow G1 1QE,

Accepted Qualifications

Qualifications that may be accepted for full membership (Qualified Genealogist) are:

Diploma in Genealogy
(Institute of Heraldic and Genealogical Studies)

Postgraduate Diploma in Family and Local History
(University of Dundee)

Masters (MLitt) in Family and Local History
(University of Dundee)

Postgraduate Diploma in Genealogical, Palaeographic and Heraldic Studies
(University of Strathclyde)

Masters (MSc) in Genealogical, Palaeographic and Heraldic Studies
(University of Strathclyde)

Anyone studying with the intention of attaining these qualifications may apply for student membership which would then last for a maximum of five years. Extending this period would be subject to RQG Board approval of individual circumstances.

We would be pleased to hear of other courses, from anywhere in the world, that may meet the standard and can be considered for recognition. Courses that will be recognised must be specific to genealogy and family history. The standard for recognition of a course is set at English QCF level 7 (of 8)[1] or Scottish SCQF level 11 (of 12)[2] and equates to 120 European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS)[3] credits as defined through the European Bologna Process.[4]